To Empathize and Empower

20160220_144311

Day 03 of 30-Day Blogging Challenge

My favorite quote. Aside from the fact that I love reading books, I always make sure to write down or if I’m being a slacker I highlight the quotations or conversations I liked from the book. Now before you give me that death stare. Yes, I know the unwritten rule of thou shalt not put highlights on ye books, but you know sometimes you gotta YOLO life.

To pick a favorite among all the quotes I have come across with is really, really hard. So I’m resorting to the book that has a big part of who I am today <ALSO thanks to Charlie ~from Perks of Being a Wallflower~ for convincing me read this book.>. Without further adieu, here is my favorite quote from the classic book To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee:

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”

It is because of these words that I learn to think through first what the person is going through before I say or conclude what I think of them. It taught me about the most important thing to become a better person: empathy. Merriam-Webster defines empathy as the feeling that you understand and share another person’s experiences and emotions : the ability to share someone else’s feelings. Making assumptions from what you only can see or hear is below empathy, and being indifferent is the least thing the person right next to you needs you to be. Everything is not what it seems and it shouldn’t always be about you. Don’t be a douche. *coughs* Marcos loyalists *coughs* …joke lang.

I really, really do love quotations, especially those one-liners. They make my heart melt inside and come back to life jumping all around my chest. Now I just realized quotes don’t always have to be from the book. So here is my favorite quote from the late Maya Angelou:

“I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it. (Popular misquote of “You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them.”)” -M.A., Letter to My Daughter

Empathy & Empowering. What about you, what are your favorite quotations? Let’s talk on the comment section below! 🙂

| prncssmanuel, 5-17-16

Leave a Reply

