Cornerstone

The past few weeks have been emotionally and physically draining for me. And while a lot of groaning, crying and doubled cravings for ice cream have had happened, circumstances had yet again taught me some few things: When you find yourself at the bleak of hopelessness, it is best to remind yourself of what had kept you moving forward up to this day. Perhaps the things that had given you inspiration from the very start. Or maybe, refreshing your mind of what lies at the end of this rutted road.

Like, mountain climbers, for example, who are greatly determined in reaching the top of a mountain without knowing exactly what awaits them from up there. Perhaps all they cling to is the thought that at every top of a mountain, there’s gonna be a breathtaking view and those who could make it up there are gonna be the only ones who can witness it.

Your family, friends, a special someone, music, arts, a career, a dream–it doesn’t necessarily have to be concrete because you see, in a world that constantly holds people down, it is nice to have some things in your life that you can hold on to to feel steady and secured.

However, time came when it felt like all the things I hold dear are like walls collapsing before my sight which opened up the door for the latter: disappointments, frustrations, depression, etc.. It seemed like I’m hanging by the edge of a cliff, frustrated, trying to save what’s still in there that can be saved. I’ve realized that no matter how strong you thought you’ve built your tower of dreams and passion, once tremors shift its way, it will crumble down leaving you aghast. Why? Well, think about this, if you are to construct your house, would you start with its walls first? I don’t think so. And I’m sure as any man in this world, you wouldn’t place it in a supple ground, would you? You need a sturdy ground. Same goes with our goals in life, I don’t think anyone would be capable of living strongly in the tower of his dreams without a solid ground, let alone be dependent only in himself.

The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. -Psalm 18:2

We live in a world that is telling people how we can be the master of our own faith and the captain of our soul but the truth remains: We need Someone who is greater than this world–even greater than this life–because we are not strong enough on our own just as a newborn and bare-naked sparrow needs endearment from its parent. No matter how much you deny it or how far you run away from it, the truth remains the truth.

A life laid down to Christ is the most powerful ground–and weapon–that you can have. His words are alive (Hebrews 4:12), His love endures forever (Psalm 100:5), He is your protector (Romans 8:31), He won’t leave you nor forsake you (Deuteronomy 31:6), He planned great things for you (Jeremiah 29:11and ultimately, our God is faithful and loving (Psalm 145:13). Now tell me, is it wrong to say that you will lack nothing (Psalm 23:1)?

Leave a Reply

